anzms History

David Garlick

Prof. David Garlick (1933-2002), a renowned microcirculationist, founded the Australia & New Zealand Microcirculation Society in 1980. David organised the first meeting of the Australia and New Zealand Microcirculation Society at Little Bay in Sydney. He organised the second meeting of the Society at Leura in the Blue Mountains. This was a satellite of the IUPS meeting  held in Sydney in August 1983.


Associate Professor Michael Perry

Under the leadership of President A/Prof Michael Perry, ANZMS was selected to host the 7th World Congress for Microcirculation, which was held in Sydney, in 2001. The Congress had 35 symposia covering all aspects of microvascular research.



Past Meetings of the ANZ Microcirculation Society:

  • 1980 - Inaugural meeting, Little Bay, Sydney

  • 1983 - Leura (as a satellite meeting of IUPS)

  • 1985 - Adelaide (in conjunction with Lymphology)

  • 1987 - UNSW, Sydney

  • 1989 - ANU, Canberra

  • 1991 - Lorne, Vic

  • 1993 - Little Bay, Sydney

  • 1995 - Auckland, New Zealand

  • 1997 - St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne

  • 1999 - Stamford Grand Hotel, Glenelg, Adelaide

  • 2001 - 7th World Congress of Microcirculation, Darling Harbour, Sydney

  • 2003 - Kingfisher Bay Resort, Fraser Island, QLD

  • 2005 - Terrigal, NSW

  • 2007 - Hepburn Springs, Vic. (joint with the Australian Vascular Biology Society)

  • 2009 - Queenstown, New Zealand

  • 2011 - Margaret River, WA

  • 2013 - Barossa Valley, SA. (joint with the Australian Vascular Biology Society)


    ANZMS Constitution

ANZMS Constitution

To download and view the document listed above, click on the PDF link above.To view or print the Portable Document Format (PDF) file, you will first need to have the latest Adobe Acrobat Viewer installed on your system.
If you do not have the latest Adobe Viewer, please download it (free) from the Adobe site before you attempt to open the desired file.

Link to Adobe