Committee members

President | Vice President | Secretary | Treasurer | Ex-officio Members |




Name: Dr Marianne Tare (

Qualifications: BSc(Hons) PhD(Monash)

Position: Research Fellow, Department of Physiology, and Lecturer, School of Rural Health, Monash University

Research interests: My research group focuses on the mechanisms that regulate the function of resistance arteries in health and disease. Current studies focus on vascular adaptations to pregnancy and dysfunction in disease (e.g. diabetes, hypertension) and resulting from suboptimal intrauterine/postnatal conditions. Exposure to early life insults can have profound effects on vascular function in the offspring, increasing the risk of cardiovascular disease. We are investigating the mechanisms responsible for vascular and cardiac dysfunction in models of early life insults ranging from nutritional deficiencies through to sustance abuse, and the effects of therapeutic interventions.



Vice President

Name: Dr Anthony Ashton (

Qualifications: BSc Hons, PhD


Scientific Director, Division of Perinatal Research (Kolling Institute) & Senior Lecturer, Sydney Medical School (University of Sydney)


Research Interests: My research group focuses on the molecular mechanisms that regulate (lymph)angiogenesis in health and disease. Current studies include differential splicosome assembly and miRNA utilisation, the role of eicosanoids and matrikines proteins (and their receptors) in the angiogenic response.  These studies are being explored across all ages in the lifespan to determine whether in utero programming determines outcomes for diseases with altered endothelial cell reactivity and angiogenic potential (such as coronary heart disease, hypertension, retinopathy, cancer and pre-eclampsia).  We also have active programs in biomarker development and first generation drug identification that intersect with these programmes to provide new therapies for diseases with limited treatment options.




Name: Professor Stephen Rattigan Rattigan

Qualifications: BSc Hons, PhD

Position: Deputy Director/Professorial Research Fellow, Menzies Research Institute.

Research Interests: Regulation of glucose metabolism and microvascular blood flow in skeletal muscle



Dr Tim MurphyTreasurer

Name: Dr Tim Murphy (

Qualifications: BSc Hons, PhD

Position: Senior Lecturer, Department of Pharmacology, University of New South Wales

Research Interests: Autoregulation of blood flow is the ability of tissues to control 'local' blood flow in response to changes in systemic blood pressure and the tissue's metabolic requirements.

Our research focusses on the various theories proposed to explain autoregulation of blood flow; pressure-induced changes in the diameter of arterioles (myogenic mechanisms)and alteration of arteriolar diameter in response to metabolic products (metabolic mechanisms). We are also interested in the effect of metabolic diseases such as obesity and diabetes on small artery function.



Past President

Name: Prof Michael Hickey ( hickey

Position: NHMRC Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Inflammatory Diseases, Monash University Department of Medicine, Monash Medical Centre.

Research Interests: Dr. Michael Hickey is an NHMRC Senior Research Fellow.  His laboratory examines leukocyte recruitment in inflamed tissues, a process which underlies the pathogenesis of most inflammatory diseases.  His research examines the control of leukocyte-endothelial cell interactions and leukocyte migration in the inflamed microvasculature, using intravital (in vivo) microscopy to examine the functional microvasculature in models of inflammation. 

Current diseases examined include contact sensitivity and glomerulonephritis.  An additional focus is human endothelial cell biology.


Ex-officio Members

Associate Professor Shaun Sandow (

Associate Professor Michael Perry (

Professor Tailoi Chan-Ling (

Associate Professor Chris Jackson (



General Committee Members

Ian Wright (

Georges Grau (

Maria Jelenic (


New Zealand & State Representatives


Lyn Wise


Rebecca Haddock


Anthony Ashton


Stephen Rattigan


David Wilson


Michael Hickey


Ruth Ganss